• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Advice on Tube Amp? (I'm looking to upgrade my old amp)

Josh Lachapelle

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Hey everyone!

Hope your week is going well. So I wanted to finally get a Tube Amp, I've been using a crappy Peavey Bandit 112 for the past 10 years or so haha I'm just super torn what to go with. I play a lot of Metal like A7X style, but also a lot of lighter distorted stuff like Hard Rock/Punk (think My Chemical Romance for example). So I want something versatile in that sense.

I was considering the Marshall JCM 2000 DSL, but from the demos I've heard it seems pretty bright. I was also considering the Peavey 6505. I really want something I can get a good tone to record with. That's my main motivation to getting a new amp right now. I figured if I'm going to spend money, might as well get a tube amp and have something I COULD gig with in the future as well, but right now it's primarily just to be able to record good tones (I have a Shure SM57, SM7B, and a Neumann TLM 102).

As far as my tone goes, I like something that isn't too bright or too dark, something in between that has a punchy feel to it. I guess the closest tones to compare it to is Zacky's tone, or Frank from MCR, but also not quite either of their tones obviously. A tone that has the heaviness of metal, but the punchiness of punk/hard rock. BUT I also want to be able to do some lighter overdrive stuff as well for certain parts/songs haha.

Anyways, if anyone has recommendations I'm all ears and appreciate your time in advance! \m/

Josh

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
Hey everyone!