• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Chord Parallels

Syxguns

One Stringer
  • Feb 8, 2023
    Houston, Texas
    I am a practicing musician but would like to share something that I found very interesting.

Chord Parallels: A sequence of Chords consisting of intervals that do not change as the chord changes.

In standard tuning on the guitar, chord parallels use only the 3rd (G), 2nd (B), and 1st (E) strings.

In a major key, the order of the parallels is F, E, and D shapes. The image shows an A bar chord played at the 5th position. At the 5th position is the F shape. The 7th position is the E shape. The 9th position is the D shape. (Don't let the shapes throw you off just yet, you will see soon.)

a_bar_f_position.png

You may play these parallel shapes when this chord is played to give it flavor. You may also throw the shapes in while playing a solo to give it some real charm.

Shapes move with the chords! This means you may play the same shapes anywhere on the neck, they do not change. Now a brief description playing in a minor key. The shapes will change. We will start with E, then D, And finally Dm. The image below shows an Am at the 5th fret. E is the first shape played at the 5th fret. D is the second shape played at the 7th fret. Dm will be the last shape and your 1st finger will be at the 8th fret.

Am_bar_E_position.png

There is a little change between the major and minor positions and shapes. I recommend getting comfortable with one before you move to the second. Below is an image of the Dm shape on the Am bar chord.

Am_bar_Dm_position.png

Note: I am not good at music notation, but I drew something up to give you an idea of what I am talking about, and how it works.