• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Fatiha - absolute beginner, need advice on picking guitar

Fatiha Zeghir

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
London
Hi all,

I am Fatiha, a French-Algerian based in London. I work in broadcasting and am trying to write stuff, like scripts, etc. I'm also a big fan of A7X and I love the concept of this school, I heard very good things about it.
I am excited and also incredibly nervous about this new adventure but I thought it's time for me to learn how to play this amazing instrument. I waited years, never thinking I could ever do it. So first things first, the guitar. I will start with acoustic obviously as I need to learn the basics.

Is this one ok do you think? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Begi...664747?hash=item28909968ab:g:B7sAAOSwI5Fecxpj

Or would you recommend one not too expensive to get started?

Thank you, peace, Fatiha x

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
A better guitar makes you want to play more but they are expensive and is a bit of a waste if your be up not liking playing guitar so much(it takes a couple years to actually be comfortable with the instrument, it took me like 8 or so before I could comfortably say 'I can do this'). I started on a cheap as Spanish guitar and it worked fine but got sick of it really quickly and wanted a new guitar.

Reactions: Fatiha Zeghir

Fatiha Zeghir

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
London
OMG @William Byerley @Ids Schiere ! Thank you so very much for your responses and inputs! This is sooooo helpful. I will get this guitar then, with light picks (right?) and get started. I will look at the beginner section of the site and see what I can learn while I wait to receive it.