• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Food For Thought : Stop Comparing Yourself To Others

Alicia Willis

Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Lexington, South Carolina
    Hey Ya’ll

I was having a conversation with a friend when I brought up the fact that many of us often compare ourselves to others, especially when it comes to our guitar playing and improvement.

I mentioned how I get so frustrated with myself, but have to also remind myself that I AM a beginner and have been learning and playing for a minuscule amount of time compared to others.

So often we look up to those who seem to be doing things we will never be able to achieve but the truth is, you just can’t do that in this current moment, in time you will !

You all know I myself am a huge fan of acoustic music and basic chord progressions, I used to beat myself up over not being able to do a Barre F chord so much I literally thought, “If I can’t do that I can’t do anything”

But that was so far from the truth. I CAN do that now.

At one point I thought, I’ll never be able to alternate pick....but I did...

At point in time I thought, I’ll never be able to play a solo.....but I did.....

At one point I thought, I’ll never be able to do a pinch harmonic....but I did... (not consistently but that’s okay lol)

Anyway, the point is, everyone is always making progress and advancements at their own pace.

So while you are looking up to others thinking to yourself “why can’t I do that?”
    There is always someone looking at YOU with that same thought.

We are all unique in your abilities and journeys, stop comparing yourself to others and just enjoy the process !

❤️

Kat the metalhead

Music Theory Bragger
  • Jan 20, 2020
    Ontario Canada