• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Guitar Action

Eoghan Walsh

New Student
Aug 15, 2020
Since they've got the Floyds, action adjustments have a few extra steps. Is the action too high before or past the 12th fret? You're gonna want to make small adjustments at a time, but be aware with a Floyd that you need to make the adjustments equally and together since it operates on a knife point pivot.
I'm not even sure if it is too high tbh. What made me notice was when I played to 20th fret on the first string, it didn't ring out and instead made the sound of the 21st. Also I'm pretty new to this, what do you mean by knife point pivot? Thanks for the help

Upvote 0

Noah Berends

Campfire Attention Holder
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Fort Wayne, IN
    I'm not even sure if it is too high tbh. What made me notice was when I played to 20th fret on the first string, it didn't ring out and instead made the sound of the 21st. Also I'm pretty new to this, what do you mean by knife point pivot? Thanks for the help
    Oohh I see, that sounds to me like the 21st fret is high or the 20th fret is low and that's what's happening. That's a bit more difficult to fix unfortunately; you *could* raise the action on that end to possibly remedy it, but that would adversely affect playability for everything else. Does it do it on any other strings/frets?

Also my bad, knife point is just the term for the very thin and precise edge that the Floyd balances on.

Upvote 0

Eoghan Walsh

New Student
    Aug 15, 2020