• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

How do I turn scales into solos?

Kat the metalhead

Music Theory Bragger
  • Jan 20, 2020
    Ontario Canada
    So as of recently I just learned the major scale and I’ve known pentatonic scales for years but I have no clue how to turn scales into solos. Are there any rules of what I can and can’t do? Can I skip strings? Or do I just use the notes in the scale and mix them up any way I want? I’m lost as you can tell :ROFLMAO: I’d love to write my own stuff but I feel like not knowing how to apply what I learned into songs is a problem! Anything will help thanks!!

chris_is_cool

Hot Topic Tourer
    Apr 18, 2020
    Cologne, Germany
    I'm still a beginner myself, but here are the most important points in my opinion:

• The most important thing should be the melodies (and maybe motifs) that you want to create! PG explains it beautifully in this lesson: https://syngates.com/lessons/melody-motif-lesson-2.164/
      Really, the most important thing about learning scale patterns and intervals and whatever is to enable you to directly translate melodies from your head to the fretboard. Of course, you will want to embellish the played notes, with hammer-ons/pull-offs, bends, slides, etc, but the translation melody -> fretboard comes first.
    • Learn solos from songs that you like, and just steal licks (short phrases) that you really really like, play around with them, change them to your liking, etc...