• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

How to record with an audio interface

Alicia Willis

Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Lexington, South Carolina
    Hey guys !

So with the collab going on, I’m trying desperately to figure out how to record with an audio interface.

How do I record sound and audio. Can I do both at the same time or will I have to do them separately ?

we have one but I’ve never recorded with it.

I have a MacBook, Focusrite 2i2, and Reaper digital audio workstation.

I’m not tech savvy so y’all, use simple words with me please 🤣

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
    Staff member
    Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com
    So, in Reaper, you can drag and drop the existing audio mp3 into the tracking area and it will create it as a new stereo track. If that doesn't work, you may need to "import media" or something, but that's what you want - track 1 will be a stereo track consisting of your backing track. Then add a new instrument/audio track and ensure that your interface is the input, and you should be golden when you hit record. If you can't figure it out from there, I can do a quick vid for you to show you (and others) how to get this going. Let me know!

Alicia Willis

Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019