• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

How to shred?

D1smemberer

New Student
Jul 10, 2021
Hi , I have been playing guitar for almost 2 years now but I have learned online so I haven't gotten that good at guitar. I want to learn from the beginning so I can get good at the basics first. So I'm doing all the lessons in this app in order. My goal is to become a shredder but I'm not sure what I should learn so I get better at shredding. Can you guys suggest what I should practice to be able to shred and play really fast solos? My favourite guitarists are John Petrucci, Synyster Gates , Jason Richardson , Nik Nocturnal and the guitarists from Archspire Dean and Tobi. I want to play these artists' songs. Should I make a practice routine? If yes, what things should I add in it?

Andrew Milner

Campfire Attention Holder
  • Nov 11, 2019
    andreilucianmoraru.com
    Well, shredding can be done using a number of techniques and a number of scales. Based on the info from the site, I'd suggest getting accustomed to the following:

- 7 positions of the major scale
    - pentatonic scales
    - sweep picking

When you have a good grasp of these, you can jump into Syn's etudes on legato, sweep picking and so on and cry yourself to sleep get better at shredding.

Upvote 0

Låww

Garage band Groupie
    Mar 22, 2022
    The tldr of learning to shred is just keeping at it, and practising songs that you enjoy a lot from the artists you named that include this. A very good source for routines and exercises in order to learn how to better play guitar apart from the synner school is the youtube channel named Bernth, where you can find many videos explaining guitar exercises and their use cases!

Reactions: Dismemberer
    Upvote 0