• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Hyperspeed downpicking?!

Alec Lewis

Stairway to Heaven Tab Studier
  • Nov 11, 2019
    So i'm learning the intro riff to Another Heart by Tremonti and it has some insanely fast downpicking, like near master of puppets level for sure, and also a weird beat that makes it considerably harder. I managed to get the beat down and I can play the riff comfortably at about 80 BPM, the song is originally played at 97 BPM. He is essentially playing 16th notes at 97 BPM all downpicked. I was wondering if anyone has some tips for how I can build up to that speed as I practice, I just started practicing it this way, as before I wasn't really using a metronome but now I feel like im dedicated to getting to that speed now that I have started with the metronome. the rest of the song is actually somewhat easier for me (I havent started tackling the solo yet) it is just this riff that is holding me back. Tremonti actually does a full lesson for this song on Youtube as well and that's what i've been following, for anyone wanting to help out.

Rad Synner

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
    Staff member
    Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Montreal
    Ok so the best advice as a guy who uses master of puppets as a warm up (at 90% its speed but as I said, warm up) is that you just have to build your speed. There is no secret technique or way to do it faster than just really tacking the time with the song to make the riff second nature to you.