• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

I feel demotivated playing the guitar

Byron Arteaga

Free Bird Player
Dec 22, 2019
Ecuador
Hi friends, when I was young I used to play guitar a lot, because I wanted to play songs from my idols. Today I'm able to play songs that I used to like. I know I'm not like Synyster Gates, but I'm feeling happy at the level that I'm at.
Recently I entered university to become a lawyer and I feel that it doesn't make sense to keep playing guitar because, sometime I feel that I'm just wasting my time instead of studying books about my career I think would be more useful in my professional life. So it is a waste of time to keep playing guitar if I'm studying for a career, or how can I keep up my motivation of playing guitar?

Rad Synner

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Montreal
    Hey Byron!

Alright so everything I'll say is a matter of my own opinion and perspective.

The hard truth is that you have to find your motivation within you because no one will truly ever force you to play guitar. I understand where you are at but from the way i am reading your message, you pretty much feel like you have to give both your law degree and guitar the same amount of attention when you really don't.

Clearly for you guitar is just a hobby and it's not something that you want to pursue in a more serious manner because you obviously seem to have find your professional calling. And so, just play guitar for fun. Don't take it as a burden. Don't force yourself to learn theory or scales or whatever because you feel that that's what ''guitarist must do''. No, there is no clear path, it's always has been to each their own depending on anyone's goal.