• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

I need help with playing faster (shreddingggg)!!!

Slime Tone

Stairway to Heaven Tab Studier
Feb 15, 2022
I've been playing guitar for about 7-8 years now and I am starting to get into some more complex stuff. Ive noticed though that i am pretty limited by my left (finger) hand speed. Ive been doing basic drills to a metronome and have noticed slight improvement. But if I want to be able to play lightning fast licks how far away/ how long will it take for me to build up some real speed. For context, my alternate picking for 16th notes falls apart around 100-110 bps.

Apocalyptic Katana

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
www.instagram.com
key to speed is....

to relax your muscles, not just your arms but your whole body (don't be tense)

only ever applying just enough necessary force to play the note

and minimizing distance away (all if not most of the time) from the strings as much as needed

as your fingers gets used to the repeated motion (practice with a metronome to keep in time!)

you''ll naturally get faster as long as you're not tensing up as you raise the speed

William B.

Hot Topic Tourer
  • Nov 11, 2019
    I think practice some legato stuff to make the fret hand faster and also slow the metronome so its done well and takes not too much effort, then move up again and keep syncing. Sometimes go way faster and mess up but kind of get the feel
    and try bursts of notes then pause, I can't do it but I think that's how

Kat the metalhead

Music Theory Bragger
  • Jan 20, 2020
    Ontario Canada
    My best advice is really to just take your time and not focus on how long it’s going to take and try not staying hyper focused on wanting to shred.