• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Introducing and learning modes

ari.mac

Hot Topic Tourer
Contest Winner!
  • Jul 16, 2020
    Italy
    Hallo guys, im a new student from indonesia, any people here who from indonesia? I love the way synyster gates playing guitar, he's masterpiece about modes, here I have difficulty in learning modes, I'm curious how Synyster Gates and all of you who master modes, are there any tips and tricks for me, if any please share
    Welcome!!!

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
    Nov 11, 2019
    Groningen
    Welcome!

The modes really aren't that difficult to understand once you know the major scale and what a tone center is.

Take for example the C major scale, if the tone center is C it's called Ionian, if it's D it's Dorian, E Phrygian, F lydian, G mixolydian, A aeolian, B locrian.

Now the tone center typically is the chord that feels like home so something you can try is play any chord of the C major family and then play the C major scale over it. That should give you a good feel for the different modes. Now you can also mix modes over a chord so for example play a D minor and first play Dorian, then Phrygian and then aeolian.

Last but not least, try to find backingtracks in a certain mode and play over them.

Chris Johnston

Music Theory Bragger
  • Nov 11, 2019
    North Ayrshire, Scotland
    Hey Robi!

That's amazing you're looking into the Modes. It's a concept I struggled with for a while, not because it was difficult, but because of how most people completely over complicated it when explaining it to me - I'll attempt to not be one of those people. However this may be a lengthy post!

In order for the Topic not to overwhelm you, I'd make sure you do some pre-Modes prep first: