• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Guitar New to forum- Trying to get motivated

famednow

New Student
Dec 1, 2022
Hey guys! Just signed up today, mainly because I was watching YouTube videos of people playing avenged songs and I remember Syn had a site. So, here we are!

I have been playing off and on (lots of off times lol) for 15 years and I never seem to be able to keep it up all year round.

I used to have a guitar teacher and that helped me with motivation but I never got anywhere close to where I want to be.

I started off wanting to play fast, learn solos and impress people. But I would always get stuck on something I couldn't figure out then give up and try again in a few months. Things like arpeggios, bends, weird chords would be something I would practice but wouldn't keep it up long enough to nail the song.

So basically I am a semi decent shredder but when there is something too technical or cord based, I tend to lose interest or find it too hard. It may not even be fast. Like the bends in bat country were harder for me than the shreddy parts. Seize the day bends too.... like the acoustic part to fade to black pisses me off, yet I was playing the solos easy. I learnt the hard parts, but I suck at some of the easy stuff like barre cords etc.

Anyway. Just joined up to try the courses and relearn some stuff I may have forgotten and take another crack at this guitar stuff. I need to try learn what I should be learning instead of just shredding or making my own solos up.

I run a social media agency and am very busy, so I need to try make time for this stuff.

I don't want to be a rockstar or be in a band. I just want to play songs I love and make some cool songs.

Pleasure to meet you guys!

Cacá Barros