• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Noob help!

DjangoX

Campfire Attention Holder
Legend+
Mar 30, 2020
United Kingdom
Hi!
I have played the guitar for a total of 5 hours. So far I know what a D is and pretty much anything Papa Gates said in the introduction videos. I'm a drummer so please speak to me as if I'm a 5 year old child.
When I play, I've discovered drop D and how easy (and fun) the main riff of Shepherd of Fire is, but I'm constantly nagged by string vibration through my amp. I am NOT hitting the low e at any point but I can definitely hear it. Notes also play when I'm getting my fingers into position without strumming. Is this normal? Or do I need to shove tissues in the pickup springs? I have a Jackson JS32 and a marshal 30 watt amp if it helps.
Remember. I'm a drummer. Thanks in advance.

Reactions: Ed Seith

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com
    The hand you pick with has a thick, fleshy part below the pinky towards the wrist that probably has some callouses from drum exercises. Let that rest on the strings lightly right in front of the bridge when you're not playing the low strings to mute them. Get used to it - managing muting is a vital component of playing with any kind of distortion. Welcome!

Reactions: Dominik Gräber

Donovan Etue

• Nov 11, 2019
    Washington State