• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Drums Placement of Drum Kit parts?

William B.

Hot Topic Tourer
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Hello, as I've been playing drums for roughly half a year, I was wondering how I should position the kit parts?
    Spacings and placement, right now I kind of feel like I'm facing left a bit too much.
    I'm right handed and the kit consists of 3 Toms, 2 that connect to the Kick Drum, a Snare, a Hi-Hat Pedal, 2 Cymbals and a Ride ( I think those are the names )
    Each time I'm jamming at this place I go to I find myself adjusting the Hi-Hat and snare distances for space and feeling comfortable.
    Is there a proper way to lay them out?
    To me it seems fine when I look at it but I have little to no experience
    I can't imagine where the double kick would go with the Hi-Hat there ( if there was one )
    One more thing, sometimes if I place one not so great I have to adjust my approach as to not hit my fingers with the Snare, Hi-Hat.

I'll try to get a picture tomorrow if it helps

Thanks in advance! :money-face:

William B.

Hot Topic Tourer
  • Nov 11, 2019
    The angles towards the walls are a massive reason. I'd maybe try spinning the set around.. maybe buy the foam to help direct your sound. And if you got mics itll be a even more difficult to.perfect.
    Thanks but it's not about the sound at the moment more like I feel like the Snare and Hi-Hat are slightly out of place and maybe I should rearrange the Cymbals, possibly the ride too.

I'll take a look at some pictures maybe there's some of peoples kits

Upvote 0

Andrew Milner

Campfire Attention Holder
  • Nov 11, 2019
    andreilucianmoraru.com