• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Something I wanted to share with everyone :)

Kat the metalhead

Music Theory Bragger
  • Jan 20, 2020
    Ontario Canada
    I thought I’d share this story in hopes of helping others or give a different view on situation’s like this.

So for almost half a year I stoped playing guitar or didn’t play much at all cuz I wasn’t happy with where I was at, sad I couldn’t shred or do crazy solos and thought that rhythm guitar is nothing special.

Not trying to brag at all but I have always been super happy with my rhythm guitar skills until I thought I wouldn’t been seen or wasn’t good enough since I wasn’t shredding like crazy and felt I should have been better since I’ve been playing for almost ten years.

during this break I took time to think and reflect. I came to the conclusion that I do actually really enjoy playing rhythm and I’m happy with how far I’ve come. the only reason I wanted to shred so bad was because that’s what others expected of me and I was stuck on listening to toxic guitarists saying that you have to shred to be good.

rhythm guitar 100% takes skills and time to learn just like lead. Only you can decide how you want to play don’t let others make you think your not good enough!

take time and reflect on how you want to play and what styles of playing make you most happy. Just take a moment to congratulate yourself on how far you’ve come :)

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
    Staff member
    Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com
    Absolutely. You don't have a song without rhythm, and lead guitar without a song is just boring widdly-widdly.