• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Staying in time with metronome

Dismemberer

Stairway to Heaven Tab Studier
Oct 16, 2021
I don't know much about rhythm and timing on guitar. I recently learnt about subdivisions like quarter notes and etc. I was practicing the exercises in the 3rd episode from the Introduction to Alternate Picking lesson which had an exercise with triplets so I started counting as I played 1 tri-plet 2 tri-plet and so on and I started playing with the metronome but I didn't know how to practice with a metronome. How do you know if you're playing in time with the metronome? Do you have to count notes? I tried counting but it's very confusing at high tempos. Help;-;

Solution
Hey! So besides the Theoretical side of playing with a Metronome, the first thing you want to do is get acquainted with the FEEL of playing alongside it. (You'll want to get used to 4/4 time before tackling triplets if you're not sure if you're playing in time 😊)

Here's a simple way to get in the pocket & know if you're playing in time:

1. Put on Back In Black by ACDC
2. Tap your foot/nod your head to it like you normally would at a gig.
3. You'll most likely be nodding along to the PULSE here. This is the most important part!
4. That pulse is what each metronome click would match up to and that's how you know you're playing in time, you're really just feeling the 1-2-3-4. These are called Strong Beats as they are where your body...

Christian Schulze

Hot Topic Tourer
Rockstar Student
Nov 11, 2019
Spain