• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

String Buzzing Problems

J

Jak Angelescu

Hello everyone! About a three weeks ago I started to notice my high E string buzzing on a couple of Frets. I didn’t think much of it but now it has gotten to a point where multiple strings are buzzing on multiple frets. I have some minor experience setting up guitars but nothing with a Floyd rose or any type Of locking system. I really don’t want to mess this guitar up and I don’t know if it would be best to take it to a luthier. I would love to get it set up exactly the same way that it came because it was perfect. But what do you guys think? Is it possible for me to try this on my own or should I take it to an expert?

Kevin Kwasneski

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
What state do you live in. Temperature changes can be hell on guitar necks. I don’t think you need a truss rod adjustment, but you can adjust your saddles and raise just ever so slightly. Write down how many turns to the bolt. This might help compensate. And throughout the year you could adjust it back down and see if it still buzzes. I live in a townhome with a basement. I keep all my guitars there because it stays around 75 throughout the entire year. Also it is not too dry down here either. Dryness can cause a ton of other problems on your fretboard.
Kevin

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com