• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Tremelo picking and sudden starts

Dan Shipway

Slim Shady
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Ive been trying to work on my alternate picking technique but I cant get a consistent controlled result at high speeds. The big problem is I cant figure out what feels natural. Ive been playing for 11 years and it still feels alien. I cant find a hand position that allows for for relaxed yet small movements, the low E is the worst because I cant find a fixed pivot point so im making the alternate picking motion but the notes aren't sounding consistent.

I was also struggling with exercises at higher BPMs because I cant seem to go from 0- 70 bpm in the flick of a switch, it makes trying to practice scales also impossible, does anyone have tips for these issues?

T

TheRedMageGuitarist

There's a lot to dissect here.
    I could write out an essay on what you could do to improve. But I'm gonna be honest, unless I can see a video of you playing, I really can't help much. It truthfully sounds like you're struggling with technique, and technique is not something that can be handled through texts and words.
    I CAN say though, that once Bill told me that he was struggling BADLY with descending scale runs, and so he did nothing but work on that for almost all of Covid. It paid off big time. If alternate picking is something you're struggling with, it may be best to focus on the etudes of alternate picking for at least an hour a day. But ignore the super shreddy parts.