• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Vocals Trouble with voice after singing

William B.

Hot Topic Tourer
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Hi, sometimes I practice vocals/singing and it can go decent. Often for like 2-3 days after a good day my voice is messed up, it's like dry or hoarse and I notice my tone when at the store or something. For a while I kept getting worried I damaged my voice or something but I think it's from the practice ( among other things ).
    Is this normal and are there ways to prevent this? I'm not very experienced and have been kind of going about it my own way.
    I heard drinking tea and having ice cream is good.

I need to go for now

❤️

Reactions: Chris Johnston
    Solution
    Hey man, so my advice is purely from my own experience, as I'm not a 'trained' vocalist - however I've got a fair bit of live gigging vocs experience.

From what your describing (hoarseness when speaking etc) it sounds like you could be straining/pushing your voice when singing - this has happened to me a fair few times.

A few things that have helped me are:

1. Warming Up Properly
    So many singers go straight into singing without warming up, and it can end up causing vocal strain. The voice is essentially a muscle, so spending a decent ammount of time doing warm ups before you even start singing will help your vocal longevity. If you YouTube 'vocal warm ups' you'll find a whole host of techniques to try.

2. Know Your Limits
    I've been...

Chris Johnston

Music Theory Bragger
  • Nov 11, 2019
    North Ayrshire, Scotland
    Hey man, so my advice is purely from my own experience, as I'm not a 'trained' vocalist - however I've got a fair bit of live gigging vocs experience.