• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Why do some chords have numbers on them?/ Having trouble figuring out chords

Leo The Gym Rat

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Hey guys!, since i'm new to music theory, i don't really understand why some chords have numbers on them, for example on the D#5 chord, what does the 5 mean?
And what does sus and add means in a chord.
Also, i was trying to figure out what chords where played in the stage, i managed to figure out the E5 assuming that E,B and E were the 1st, 3rd and 5th degree of the E major scale, however on the D#5 i didn't manage to figure it out using the method i mentioned, why is that?, i don't think it was a mistake since i checked it several times, and i even tried checking the Eb scale since, on my understanding (I'm probably severly wrong here lol) Eb=D# on the circle of fifths atleast, Thanks!

Last edited:

Rad Synner

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Montreal
    Hey dude!

Before anything, its a bit difficult to explain it in text and I know that there are actual lessons in the school where PG goes over this so I will tell you which if my written explanation is not clear enough! If anyone wants to do corrections on my own explanations, please do!

You made a small mistake with your E5 Chord.

Let's take a look at the E major scale: E, F♯, G♯, A, B, C♯, D♯

The first degree is the tonic so yes, its E

However, if you count in the scale, the third degree is G#, not B.

B is the fifth degree.

So if E5 is E - B - E, then there is only the tonic (first degree) and its fifth (fifth degree) and then it goes back to the tonic but an octave higher. E cannot be the fifth degree of its own scale, that's just not how it works.