• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Breaking bad habbits

Ben Thorpe

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
I have been playing for 5 months, and I find myself still making stupid mistakes, like missing strings, strumming the wrong string or hitting the wrong fret. Are these habbits that ever get completely broken, or does everybody (including our Lord and saviour Synyster Gates) do this from time to time? Thanks!

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com
    You will *always* make mistakes, in almost every performance. What changes is that you make different mistakes, learn how to mask them better (I *meant* to do that!) and, in the case of live performance, chalk it up to running around like a fucking lunatic and putting on a SHOW, knowing that your audience won’t catch the little mistakes in the context of the whole sensory overload.
    Relax. 🙂

Markus Nick

New Student
    Nov 11, 2019
    Of course everyone make mistakes. Always, like Ed said. With time you will make less mistakes. But the cruel thing is, when you make a break you unlearn your muscle memory again. Thats what happens to me all the time 🙂 Stand your ground! Its the “play 10 minutes a day instead 2 hours a week” thing.

Syn Gates

🦾
    Staff member
    Legend+
    Sep 18, 2019
    Huntington Beach