• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Buzzing sound after i wired my new pickup

Keenan Borgerson

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
So i got a Seymour Duncan JB humbucker for my strat and i wanted to wire it up without the tone pots because im completely new to witing and i also want to have a more “full” tone coming from my guitar. But when i wired it up the way the diagram said, i would only put one string on each time and plug the guitar into my amp but when i did that there wasnt any pickup from the strings but there was a loud buzzing sound (kinda like feedback). Can anyone help me with this? Also i can only get a faint sound from the string when i disconnwct tge ground wire fromthe bridge connection on the back of the guitar. Any help?

Matt Wildman

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Liberty IN
The ground wire is just there to keep you from getting accidentally shocked. Don’t take it out,make sure it’s connected there, but to me it sounds like it’s a bad connection with one of the hot wires. (Assuming there is a black and red wire there). Just make sure you have good connections with the wired and everything. Idk about the feedback noise though. Can you tell us more about that?

Jake Young

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019