• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Feeling stuck

Austin Goodsell

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
I am self taught and have been playing on and off for about 10 years. I know the different techniques like hammer ons, pull offs, sustained, sweep, different types of harmonics, etc… But when I play I catch myself playing the same thing over and over again. I have tried to look at different lessons to try to fix the issue but end up not knowing if that was the lesson I need to be learning to be able to play freely. I’ve slowly been losing the spark to pick up my Guitar but don’t want to have all of that experience and talent end. What would you guys recommend?

Richard O'connor

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Birmingham, England.
Just learn as much as possible from as many people as possible to build up your own library of riffs and licks. Learning from other types of music can help as well. Maybe look into different types of jazz and apply it to whaf you want to do. Plus by doing the lessons on here and learning syns etudes you can apply these skills to creating your own stuff. It will come over time.

Sven Barnitzki

Stairway to Heaven Tab Studier
Nov 11, 2019
Germany
Try a different type of music. There are so many backing tracks for each genre.
I put a little bit of what i like in my warm-up routine, from metal, over gypsy jazz, blues and hiphop. It can help a bit expand your horizon and get some new ideas.

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com