• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Who taught you to play Papa gates?

Brian Haner Sr.

Papa
Staff member
Legend+
Fucking Legend
Nov 11, 2019
I was self-taught for the first few years I played. I think the first book I had was a Bob Dylan book with chord symbols. After that, a Beatles book with chords. Then I started transcribing stuff off of records by ear – Hendrix, Clapton, etc. That lasted for about 5 years or so until I took my first formal lesson with a jazz guitarist at my local music store. He taught me basic scales & more complex chords.
Next up, I studied with Ted Greene – who was one of the best players & teachers who ever lived. His books are still around today. He was a pioneer. I have never met anyone who understood the fretboard and chord construction better than him. He introduced me to Joe Pass and I studied with him for a few months. Obviously – an experience of a lifetime.
I have managed to study with quite a few greats. Sometimes for only one lesson – like Tommy Tedesco. He was part of the Wrecking Crew in LA and played on virtually everything in the 60s & 70s. I did a session with him and afterwards I asked if we could meet and he could give me some pointers. I went to his house and we spent a couple of hours together. He could read ANYTHING. He really helped my reading – showing me shortcuts & tricks. Let’s see. Who else? I recently spent a day with Robin Nolan studying Gypsy Jazz.
And needless to say, my son has shared a ton of stuff with me. I was never big on metal, tapping, etc., so he has helped me fill a lot of gaps. (As I have with him with country, jazz & blues).