• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Help needed - lost with what to work on, where to (re)start, motivation and mindset, etc.

Matt Wildcat

The Fierce Deity
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    UK
    Hi everyone,
    Apologies for the long post, but I'm in need of some help.

So, I've been playing for around 7/8 years now. 5 of which were just basic self-taught chords and hooks from video game songs, the rest being with a tutor who taught me some basic exercises, a few small solos, things like that.

Lately more than ever though, I've been really, really struggling with a lot of things. At some point two or three years ago, I kinda dropped out of playing for quite a while due to a variety of reasons, ranging from things going on that I had to prioritise, to simply taking a huge hit to my motivation and getting lost doing other things. When I tried to get back into it, I realised that it had seriously affected my playing. I wasn't exactly brilliant with playing then, but I forgot a lot of the stuff I used to be able to play, I lost a lot of progress with a fair few techniques, etc.