• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

How to learn a metal-solo. Advanced Level.

Ed Seith

Supreme Galactic Overlord
Staff member
Legend+
  • Nov 11, 2019
    Marana, AZ USA
    soundcloud.com
    Tough to answer without more detail about where you are. Your profile says youā€™ve been playing 4 years, so Iā€™ll assume you have a decent set of ā€œrhythm handsā€ and want to move into lead work.
    Start with an easier solo. Ballads are usually a good start. Syn makes some reallyā€¦ UNIQUEā€¦ note choices in his lead playing. I never really noticed it until I started learning some of his parts. Heā€™s really unorthodox (in a good way), so you may want to consider outside of A7X or DT to start with.
    Either way, break the solo into the easy parts and the hard parts. For harder parts, start by just playing the notes, at whatever tempo it takes to get it (or ā€œno tempo at allā€). This is just to ā€œget it under your fingers.ā€ Get the harder/faster parts to where you play them exactly the same every time.
    Once youā€™re there, start working with a metronome at REALLY slow speeds. when youā€™re comfortable at that speed, tick the metronome up a notch. Do this with all the parts, until you can string them together at one tempo. The slower parts may seem boring at this tempo, but stick with it.
    If your overall skill and dexterity are being built at the same time, a difficult solo can take weeks or even MONTHS to get. Patience, and knowing that when you get it there, the effort will make your next challenge easier.
    Good luck!

Jake Young

Free Bird Player
    Nov 11, 2019