• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Mastering guitar

Josh Wright

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
I have been playing guitar for about 5 years. I’m not absolutely amazing but I consider myself to be pretty good. I was thinking about what the difference between an expert and a master is. I wouldn’t consider myself either of them, but I strive to be a master. It dawned on me there really isn’t much of a difference, they both have roughly the same skills. However a master approaches everything with the mindset of a beginner. I encourage everyone to take things slow at the beginning of learning something. I have the tendency to try and play everything as fast as possible from the start and it leads to sloppy playing. You can really work on technique when you actually slow down and take the time to really learn.

G

I think the definition of ‘Master’ can vary between an individual. As an example, I consider Guthrie Govan a master of his craft because he can play alot of genres convincingly well. You send him to play a country gig and people would think he dedicates his time and practice to study country. The problem is that some musicians tend to approach everything and to tell the truth, dont really master their craft. Alot of musicians are considered masters in one genre. Paco De Lucia for example was a master of Flamenco and classical, but possibly couldnt play funk or heavy metal. I believe the saying ‘Jack of all trades, master of none’ is fitting.
In terms of Academia, you have musicians who have studied masters degrees who earn the title of master if they so wish. This is then followed by the qualification and title of PhD and Doctor. So in this, the term Doctor is more complimenting.