• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Memorizing scales

Andrew Antonucci

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
I’ve been playing guitar for about 13 years, self taught, and i skipped over ever learning scales and such and trying to learn them now im having such a hard time having them stick. How do guitarists memorize and eventually be able to hop right into any scale at any point?
Any good exercise ideas? Confident in my playing i just want my theory knowledge better for writing.

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
I Just play them alot and that makesucks them stick. And it May come in handy to memorie the notes in a scale and know the theory a little bit. For example A minor is A B C D E F G and A harmonic minor is simply A minor but you move the 7th note up a half step so you het a G# instead of a G. This is pretty much how I remember the scales. Hope it helps😅

G

I agree with Ids, repetition is what makes the scales stick. Another helpful hint…once you know one scale or shape in one key, it’s the same shape for any key. For example (staying with Ids’ A minor example), the A minor pentatonic shape is the same shape for C minor, G minor, or even D# minor. You just move your root note where you need it and *presto* you have the scale in the key you need. Same goes for major scales, minor scales, etc.

G