• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Syn- Stubborn pinky

Elton Breaux

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Ive been playing guitar now for a few years. Ive sat down taught myself most of the music i love (a7x mostly) but i have always had a problem with my pinky. What are some excercises you’d suggest to rectify that? Any input is apprectiated.

J

Jak Angelescu

I actually am about to post a video tutorial on a new forum about how to play the Hail to the King intro. Because this song is a lot of pinky work, I go through some of my own devised exercises to help with the pinky. There’s a lot more I have, but you can check it out 🙂

Filip Tomiša

Campfire Attention Holder
Nov 11, 2019
Croatia
www.youtube.com
What made me start using my pinky was the shepherd of fire riff. You just have to use it on that riff cause at some point you can’t use your ring finger anymore because you keep stretching your fingers. Also you have to bend with your pinky on that riff and that strengthens your pinky even more. If you like that song, try playing the riff, it’s super easy and it might help you.

Chris Robertson

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
I have an issue with Finger Independace and I noticed it about a week ago. Are you struggling with controlling your pinky? like for example when you use the ring finger, does the pinky shoot up away from the strings or does it curl below the fretboard? Or are you struggling to keep the knuckle properly curled instead of flattening?

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
Pinky tends to be a week finger maybe it is just that your pinky is not really strong enough or something.