• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

I'm new

Michelle Lo

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
Hey guys, I thought I’d introduce myself. I’m 18 years old, and have decent musical knowledge (played piano for a few years, passed my grade 6 piano exam and grade 5 theory exam) and I started playing guitar a few years ago because of Syn. I love Syn so much and he inspired me to play, and I was doing relatively alright (I self learnt some simple Beatles songs (chords) in a few weeks) but then I moved to boarding school so I abandoned my regular guitar playing, also because of exams and stuff so it has been a few years since I last played. I’m now back at home and last month I tried to pick up the guitar again, and it’s really stressing me out. I don’t know if this has anything to do with it, but I have depression and I’ve recently been feeling really down because of how much I fail at everything and I’m really upset because although my progress was alright before, I keep feeling like a failure because I feel like I’m not doing anything correctly. Sometimes I think it may be because I have small hands, (for reference, I’m a 5ft 1 female who weighs around 50kg so I have pretty tiny hands). I’ve been overthinking alot recently and this probably isn’t the right forum to discuss all this, but I have been extremely upset as well because in 2015 I was supposed to watch an Avenged Sevenfold show in Hong Kong (we rarely get any shows here) but my grandma had an emergency and went into hospital so I missed the show. I’ve been feeling really down because I really wanted to go and I already had tickets and this probably isn’t the right forum for it but I don’t know who else to tell. If there is any advice I would really appreciate it, regarding m