• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Knowing What to Practice?

MasonTheWZRD

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
Hey everyone!
I have been playing for about 6 months now, only issue is I mainly only played classical and my instructor has told me what to practice. Do you guys have any tips on making a practice schedule so you don’t procrastinate and waste time?

G

I always find creating goals in smaller milestones really helps to keep the motivation going with a little less stress. If you are just starting out it’s always beneficial to do work outs tediously slow – this approach can really help develop solid technique. Never over pack your lessons with variety, and short breaks are necessary.
Look at a basic concept or idea (however easy or hard it may be), and really break it down to its most fundamental structure. For example, take a basic triad (C major for example) and try to understand it’s qualities. You could go into so much depth with such a basic idea that sometimes people miss by accident. Work out what makes it a major tonality, the intervals, can these intervals be applied across the fret board, the inversions. Once these ideas have been thought of, begin to think how this triad can be approached in different genres of music, think about the different techniques each genre would need to apply to this chord and what scales could fit over the triad.
This is so many hours of practice for very little information given – C E G. But this can be applied to all ideas, and can either go in the direction of wanting to learn more theory or technique development.
Try not to do too much in one go, the information wont always lock in.
Hope this helps!

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen