• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

Stuck On A Playing Plateau

Dominic Bonacorsi

New Student
Nov 11, 2019
I have been playing guitar for about 5 years now and I stopped progressing about a year ago. I learned about all I can and hit a barrier where I cant progress in solos I am trying to learn. Ill start learning a solo at 50% speed and Ill get it up to around 80% then I cant bring it up to speed any further. Does anyone have any tips for moving further with my playing?

Joe Giumarello

Stairway to Heaven Tab Studier
Nov 11, 2019
New Jersey
www.tiktok.com
Try a regimen. So you could do chromatic alternate picking up and down the neck for x amount of minutes, legato chromatics up and down the neck for x minutes, you could practice sweep patterns but only at a speed that you can do it cleaning. All of this should be used with a metronome. Maybe try finger picking or hybrid picking if you don’t know how to do that. What techniques are you exactly struggling with though?

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
I usely find songs That I really would love to learn and has New things That I did not know before and learn them in like a ween so i can combine the learning with Just having fun playing. Usely the New stuff That sounds really cook helps me away from the plateau. Or learning like a New genre or stuff like that. For example if felt like in hit a plateau and than I played gypsy jazz on acoustic for a week and that solvent the problemen

Chris Robertson

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019