• Join the A7X Discord!

We're updating the community and moving all social content from the community to the Discord. All lessons related conversations will still take place here though! Join the Discord below and view the full announcement for more details

JOIN THE DISCORD VIEW THREAD

feeling like I'm not good at guitar

G

I feel like I’m not that great at guitar even after 3 years of playing February 14th will be 3 years. I just feel like I’m not learning anything any more should I start playing to backing track or what should I do. I want to make a living out of playing the guitar like everyone else on this website but I’m having problems feeling like I’m not good also I don’t know how to get gigs can someone help this will be much appreciated.

idssdi

Sold-out Crowd Surfer
Nov 11, 2019
Groningen
Gething better tends to come from practicing but dont forget to have fun in the process. Backingtracks can be a way of having fun and still learning how to improvise. I also would like to know what you think you’re not good enough at maybe we can help you. Can you also upload some riffs so we can try and give you some tips

John Tierney

Free Bird Player
Nov 11, 2019
Stop and think. Look back at that 2 year mark and compare that you to the right now you and say “I couldn’t do ____ technique or riff and now that’s easy”. I’ve been playing I think with a more serious midset for 2 years. I’ll tell you a quick story, when I first picked up my first guitar, I couldn’t even fret and I messed with the tuning pegs so much I broke a string not even 10 minutes in to my journey. Now I look back and just laugh at myself and see that all I’ve accomplished.